Curriculum for Excellence
Bringing learning to life and life to learning.
Curriculum for Excellence has now been introduced across Scotland for all 3-18 year olds – wherever they learn. It aims to raise standards, prepare our children for a future they do not yet know and equip them for jobs of tomorrow in a fast changing world.

The eight curriculum areas  of Curriculum for Excellence are:

  • Expressive arts
  • Health and wellbeing
  • Languages
  • Mathematics
  • Religious and moral education
  • Sciences
  • Social studies
  • Technologies

Active Learning
Curriculum for Excellence emphasises the value of an active learning approach. In the early years, children will have a range of learning experiences that include planned and purposeful play and stimulating learning which engages and challenges children’s thinking using real life and imaginary situations. As children progress through school they continue to be involved in active learning experiences which are engaging and give them ownership of their own learning.

Co-operative Learning
Co-operative learning is a successful teaching strategy in which small teams, each with students of different levels of ability, use a variety of learning activities to improve their understanding of a subject. Each member of a team is responsible not only for learning what is taught but also for helping teammates learn, thus creating an atmosphere of achievement. Students work through the assignment until all group members successfully understand and complete it.

Religious Instruction and Observance
As a Catholic Primary School, Christianity and its values are central to the Ethos of the school. We follow the diocesan Religious Education programme which includes the teaching of other World Religions. In Primary 3 parents are invited to ‘opt in’ to the preparation for the sacraments and these sessions will take place after school. We welcome the celebration and discussion of other faiths and emphasise the importance of celebrating together and learning from one another